SHEFFIELD CITY COUNCIL

COUNCIL MEETING – 20TH JULY 2022

ITEM 12 – CHANGES TO MEMBERSHIPS OF COUNCIL COMMITTEES ETC, APPOINTMENTS TO OUTSIDE BODIES AND RELATED ISSUES

- To (a) note that Councillor Ben Curran replaced Councillor Paul Wood as the Labour Group Spokesperson on the Housing Policy Committee with effect from 7th June 2022;
- (b) note that, at its meeting held on 22nd June 2022, the Waste and Street Scene Policy Committee appointed Councillor Mike Chaplin as Deputy Chair of the Committee;
- (c) appoint Councillor Steve Ayris as Deputy Chair of the Health Scrutiny Sub-Committee:
- (d) appoint Councillor Richard Williams as Deputy Chair of the Charitable Trusts Sub-Committee:
- (e) confirm that the Regulatory Committees are to operate with two chairs in 2022/23, (namely Councillors Dianne Hurst and Alan Woodcock on Planning and Highways Committee, and Councillors David Barker and Jayne Dunn on the Licensing Committee), continuing the arrangements operated in recent years, and not operate with a Chair and Deputy Chair which had been the designations approved in error at the annual meeting of the Council on 18th May 2022;
- (f) note that, in order to reflect the practice in operation, the "Committee Chair Job Share Protocol" in Part 5 of the Council's Constitution will be updated to reflect that the Chairs of the Regulatory Committees, each with equal full responsibility for the role, are designated as "Joint Chairs", and the job-share chairs, i.e. two Members jointly to share the position of Committee Chair, that have been appointed to the Policy Committees, are designated as "Co-Chairs";
- (g) note that, in accordance with the authority given by the City Council at its annual meeting held on 18th May 2022, the Monitoring Officer had authorised the following appointments, with effect from the dates shown:-

Health Scrutiny Sub-Committee

(1) Councillors Abtisam Mohammed, Anne Murphy and Garry Weatherall appointed to serve on the Sub-Committee, with effect from 1st June 2022; (2) Councillor Martin Phipps appointed to serve on the Sub-Committee in place of Councillor Angela Argenzio, with effect from 8th June 2022, noting that he will also serve as Group Spokesperson on the Sub-Committee; and (3) Councillor Angela Argenzio appointed to serve as a substitute member of the Sub-Committee, in place of Councillor Martin Phipps, also with effect from 8th

June 2022

Housing Policy Committee

(1) Councillor Fran Belbin appointed to serve on the Committee in place of Councillor Safiya Saeed, with effect from 12th July, 2022; and (2) Councillors' Minesh Parekh and Safiya Saeed appointed to serve as substitute members on the Committee, with effect from 12th July 2022

Waste and Street Scene Policy Committee

(1) Councillor Mike Chaplin appointed to serve on the Committee, with effect from 1st June 2022; and (2) Councillor David Barker appointed to serve as a substitute member on the Committee, with effect from 12th July, 2022

Corporate Joint Committee with Trade - Unions

Councillors Joe Otten, Martin Smith and Richard Williams appointed to serve on the Committee, with effect from 16th June, 2022

Mayoral Combined Authority Audit, Standards and Risk Committee (NB the Mayoral Combined Authority have reduced the membership of this Committee to one member per Authority, with Sheffield City Council required to nominate one Liberal Democrat member with a substitute member) (1) Councillor Ian Auckland appointed to serve on the Committee, with effect from 7th June 2022; (2) Councillor Mike Levery appointed to serve as a substitute member of the Committee, with effect from 7th June 2022; (3) Councillors' Ben Curran and Talib Hussain be removed as members of the Committee, with effect from 7th June 2022; and (4) Councillors' Simon Clement-Jones and Joe Otten be removed as substitute members of the Committee, with effect from 7th June 2022

Sheffield Museums Trust - Directors and Members

Ms Cate McDonald be appointed to serve on the Trust, with effect from 31st May 2022

Sheffield Football Trust

Councillor Anne Murphy to replace Councillor Colin Ross on the Trust, with effect from 1st June 2022

Sheffield Safer and Sustainable Communities Partnership

(1) Councillor Tony Downing to replace Councillor Tony Damms on the Committee, with effect from 13th June 2022; and (2) Councillor Richard Williams to replace Councillor Alan Hooper on the Committee, with effect from 15th June 2022

Sheffield Theatres Trust – Directors and Members	-	(1) Councillors Roger Davison and Joe Otten to be removed from the Committee, with effect from 13 th June 2022; and (2) Councillor Sioned-Mair Richards to be appointed to serve on the Committee, with effect from 13 th June 2022		
(h) approve the following changes to the memberships of Committees, Boards, etc.:-				
Finance Sub-Committee	-	Councillor Mary Lea to fill a vacancy and Councillor Tom Hunt to fill a vacancy as a substitute member		
Finance Sub-Committee Urgency Sub-Committee	-	Councillor Maroof Raouf to fill a vacancy		
Charitable Trusts Sub-Committee	-	Councillor Mike Levery to fill a vacancy		
Adult Health and Social Care Policy Committee	-	(1) Councillor Ruth Milsom to be removed as a member; (2) Councillor Safiya Saeed to fill a vacancy; (3) Councillor Garry Weatherall to be removed as a substitute member; and (4) Councillors' Peter Garbutt, Maleiki Haybe and Bernard Little to fill vacancies as substitute members		
Health Scrutiny Sub-Committee	-	Councillor Abtisam Mohamed to be removed as a member		
Education, Children and Families Policy Committee	-	Councillors Marieanne Elliot, Abtisam Mohamed, Maroof Raouf, Safiya Saeed and Paul Turpin to fill vacancies as substitute members		
Housing Policy Committee	-	Councillors Alexi Dimond, Marieanne Elliot and Christine Gilligan to fill vacancies as substitute members		
Transport, Regeneration and Climate Policy Committee	-	Councillors Mike Chaplin and Bryan Lodge to fill vacancies as substitute members		
Economic Development and Skills Policy Committee	-	Councillors Mike Drabble, Peter Garbutt, Bernard Little and Martin Phipps to fill vacancies as substitute members		
Economic Development and Skills Urgency Sub-Committee	-	Councillor Minesh Parekh to fill a vacancy		
Waste and Street Scene Policy Committee	-	Councillor Ruth Mersereau to fill a vacancy as a substitute member		

Waste and Street Scene Urgency Sub-Committee	-	Councillor Mark Jones to fill a vacancy	
Communities, Parks and Leisure Policy Committee	-	Councillors Fran Belbin, Brian Holmshaw, Christine Gilligan, Mary Lea and Ruth Mersereau to fill vacancies as substitute members	
Communities, Parks and Leisure Urgency Sub-Committee	-	Councillor Peter Price to fill a vacancy	
Planning and Highways Committee	-	Councillor Ian Auckland to fill a vacancy as a substitute member	
(i) appoint representatives to serve on other bodies as follows:-			
Corporate Joint Committee with Trade Unions	-	(1) Councillor Shaffaq Mohammed to replace Councillor Martin Smith; and (2) Councillors Dawn Dale, Mazher Iqbal and Zahira Naz to serve as substitute members for their Co-Chairs	
Joint Advisory Committee for the South Yorkshire Archaeology Service	-	Councillor Janet Ridler to fill a vacancy	
Mayoral Combined Authority Overview and Scrutiny Committee	-	Councillor David Barker to fill a vacancy as a substitute member	
Poors Land (Ecclesall Bierlow Charity)	-	Mr Mike Waters to fill a vacancy	
(i) note that appointment of Members	to the	Local Panel for Together Housing (a stock	

(j) note that appointment of Members to the Local Panel for Together Housing (a stock transfer management board) and to Sheffield Compact, are no longer required to be made as those bodies no longer exist.